Kaikujen säiliö

Immersive sonic performance for wind ensemble, custom electronics and round metal silo.

Kaikujen säiliö (provisional title) is a site-specific immersive sound piece for brass band and live electronics, written for the Öljysäiliö 468 space in Kruunuvuorenranta.


Öljysäiliö 468 is a vast, repurposed round empty oil tank recently transformed into a permanent light installation. Due to its shape and materials, its acoustics are extremely peculiar, with long reverberation times, shimmering echoes and immersive radiating patterns. In addition, it is an almost magical site for a modern times sonic ritual, due to its appearances of a relic of fossil-fuel’s culture, its position by the shore, and its nature, in-between a closed industrial space not meant for humans and a shell open to the surrounding land- and soundscapes, that constantly filter and reverberate in its open cavity.


Kaikujen säiliö is an experimental sonic piece exploring ways to listen to the encounter between instruments, technology, performance space, audience and landscape, as it emerges like a precarious ecosystem. 

The live brass instruments, an array of DIY, recycled and adapted electronic devices augmenting and transforming the space, the light, the wind and the sea waves, filtering through the holes on the metallic reverberant surfaces, and finally the audience moving through the space, are the living agencies defining this immersive sonic experience. 

Each player, using their own instrument as well as a variety of other sound sources, interacts with the structure of the silo and a network of exciters and scattered loudspeakers. 

Due to the extremely peculiar reverberant acoustics of the place, the piece is based on timbral and density changes, as rhythmic precision is lost in the stratification of the reverb tails. The physical constraints coming from the space itself challenge the way complexity is created in the score, stimulating the research of different writing directions. 


The piece, meant to last approximately forty-five minutes, will accompany the sunset light from dusk to darkness, as it filters through the holes in the structures, blending with the resident light installation.


Composition and live electronics: Andrea Mancianti

Production: Äänen Lumo

Conductor: Henriikka Teerikangas

Soloists: Henriikka Teerikangas, Inka Pärssinen,  Sauli Saarinen, Max Silfverberg, Mikko Marttila.


Wind ensemble: Helsinki Symphonic Winds (Akateeminen puhallinorkesteri)




Premiere date: 22nd August 2020 TBC


Supported by: Sibelius Fund of the Society of Finnish Composers, Taike (Ars Promotion Centre Finland), The City of Helsinki.

Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution - non-commercial - share-a-like 3.0 License and is protected by Patamu.com.